• IMG20181024150943 - Tome Topple Readathon, November & Spring Wrap-Up
    Features,  Readathons,  Truffle Babble,  Wrap-Ups

    Tome Topple Readathon, November & Spring Wrap-Up

    I disappeared for a while. I know, I’m sorry but the end of this month is the end. The end of the blog and reading slump tyranny. To be fair – I wasn’t actually slumping. I had things going on in my personal life and it happens, life happens, s#!t happens. So here is my sad yet still ok wrap up. November Wrap-Up Here’s the tally of how many books I read:   Books read: 7  Total Pages Read: 2,585   Books that I read:   The Boneless Mercies by April Tucholke ★★★★☆(4/5) | REVIEW  Two Dark Reigns by Kendare Blake ★★★★☆(4.5/5) | REVIEW TO COME (1/12/18) Life on the Lease by Victoria Schade…

  • Readathons,  Truffle Babble

    Tome Topple Readathon Update | The Halfway Mark

    Hi 😀   I am halfway through the Tome Topple Readathon and boy, I am failing. Remember how I had like…5 books on my tbr? I’m only halfway through the first book The Unexpected Everything. I’m pretty disappointed but I’ve had some personal circumstances and work that kind of seriously impeded on my reading and blogging (I’m sorry for being absent, I’m half hating it cause I want to be publishing the reviews I’ve half written but also half loving it cause who doesn’t love a bit of a social media detox :P). It’s not over yet! I’ve got one more week to hopefully finish one more book 🙂 This…

  • HP meme - WTF Wednesday | The Harry Potter Edition
    Memes,  Truffle Babble

    WTF Wednesday | The Harry Potter Edition

    It’s TIME FOR WTF WEDNESDAYYYYY. I love Harry Potter so I had to do a WTF post purely just for HP, because over the series and its movie adaptations there have been some serious WTF moments. 1 sec: let’s just appreciate the memes in the photo above. We gotta respect. BEWARE! SPOILERS DUH. Here are 8 WTF Harry Potter moments:   1. When Dumbledore lost his shit in the GoF movie. I think we all know this one, and every HP fan has cringed or in my case, laughed their arses off at this scene. JK WROTE CALMLY OKAY. Good on you director Mike Newell. JUST GOOD ON YA.  …

  • IMG20181123175959 - Navigating the Stars by Maria V. Snyder Book Review
    Reviews

    Navigating the Stars by Maria V. Snyder Book Review

    I loved this book wayyyy more than I expected to and wow, it was such a fun and action-packed journey! Sci-fi books are hard to write and boy did this hit most the right notes for me.   Goodreads Blurb:   New York Times bestselling author Maria Snyder returns with a compelling new sci-fi series. Perfect for fans of Star Wars and Poison Study. Year 2471. A new discovery. Those three words thrill my parents – the galaxy’s leading archaeologists – but for me, it means another time jump to a different planet. One so big, my friends will be older than my dad when we arrive. And I’ll still…

  • IMG20180604141312 - 3 Tomes I Own & Want to Read | Let the Tome Topple Readathon Begin!
    Readathons,  Truffle Babble

    3 Tomes I Own & Want to Read | Let the Tome Topple Readathon Begin!

    The Tome Topple Readathon begins tonight! …and I have failed my goal to read certain books before this deadline. Why didn’t I see this coming? xD I have put Nevermoor on hold and I’m trying to get through Clockwork Angel asap, but never fear! I am starting the lovely readathon with the gorgeous contemporary by Morgan Matson – The Unexpected Everything. ANYWAY – to celebrate the start of the readathon, here are 3 TOMES I OWN and really do want to read, no matter how many times they get pushed down the tbr hole. Do you own a lot of books with over 500 pages though? Let me know in…

  • IMG20180715115751 e1533908180675 - Tome Topple Readathon TBR
    Readathons,  Truffle Babble

    Tome Topple Readathon TBR

    IM DOING A READATHON!!! I’ve wanted to participate in the Tome Topple Readathon for a while now and finally, the time has come. I’m so excited! If you don’t know what the Tome Topple Readathon is about, it’s basically a readathon created by the booktuber Thoughts on Tomes that was created to encourage people to read BIG BOOKS. We can all get very intimidated by massive books and I love that this readathon promotes tomes. The main challenge for this readathon is to read books that are over 500 pages, so all the books on my tbr are over 500 pages! This is the 7th round of this readathon and…

  • IMG20181024143515 - The Boneless Mercies Book Review
    Reviews

    The Boneless Mercies Book Review

    The blurb of The Bonesless Mercies had me hooked onto this book and I had to request it. Standalone fantasy with female mercenaries? It sounds so bad-arse and ready to thunder.   Goodreads Blurb:   They called us the Mercies, or sometimes the Boneless Mercies. They said we were shadows, ghosts, and if you touched our skin we dissolved into smoke … Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are Boneless Mercies – death-traders, hired to kill quickly, quietly and mercifully. It is a job for women, and women only. Men will not do this sad, dark work. Frey has no family, no home, no fortune, and yet her blood sings a…

  • Nick Young - WTF Wednesday | 8 WTF Character Names (To Pronounce Wrong or Totally Skim-Read)
    Memes,  Truffle Babble

    WTF Wednesday | 8 WTF Character Names (To Pronounce Wrong or Totally Skim-Read)

    Let’s all be honest with each other, there have been plenty of character names in the past that had befuddled us in the past while reading. Whether they have consonants and vowels all jumbled up that somehow make pronunciation sense, or that they have a strange European etymology. Here’s the quick list of some names I sure have mispronounced or completely disregarded altogether for my own version via skim reading.   Chaol from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas This name has become quite famous in the YA book community I believe because it seems that nobody knew it was pronounced like KALE the vegetable until Sarah or the…

  • IMG20181024143954 - Kingdom of Ash Book Review
    Reviews

    Kingdom of Ash Book Review

    The end. IT’S THE END. The crying will never end. Someone give me tissues and play more Bring Me The Horizon tracks. Disclaimer: This review is SPOILER-FREE, (except for obvious spoilers from the previous books, so BEWARE), so basically expect a bunch of mush that makes no sense. The reason why I’ve been doing mini-reviews for this series: I CAN’T ENGLISH REVIEW WELL from the shookness generally. It’s extremely hard and I can’t believe I’m doing a full review for this book that had me fully shook after nearly imploding when writing that Muse of Nightmares review. It’s so hard. Either way, I’m not going to be analysing a whole lot with…

  • IMG20180430132056 2 - Discussion: Bookstagram & The Disillusion of Popularity Online
    Discussion Galore,  Truffle Babble

    Discussion: Bookstagram & The Disillusion of Popularity Online

    Today, I thought I would do a little discussion post to discuss my thoughts. It’s a bit on the serious side in comparison to most of my content I think but why shouldn’t I post my bookish thoughts on my online journal aka blog? 🙂 I’d like to think that I have a decent amount of experience on Bookstagram, being that I’ve been doing it for over a year and I’ve managed to amass a decent following (albeit still small in many aspects). Today I want to discuss something I think many bookstagrammers like myself are generally thinking once they reach a point where they have that certain amount of…