• 80342334 2315680481869986 3506905277528014848 n - Ninth House Book Review
    Reviews

    Ninth House Book Review

    I finally finished the book that’s been on everyone’s ‘Anticipated Releases of 2019’ OR ‘Books I Wish I Read in 2019’ if they haven’t read it already. Boy, am I proud of myself cause I almost gave up halfway. Goodreads Blurb Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. By age twenty, in fact, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s thrown her life away. But at…

  • loveboat1 - Loveboat, Taipei Book Review
    Reviews

    Loveboat, Taipei Book Review

    Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen Book Review Now that we’re well into 2020, and I’ve been reading everyone’s list of anticipated reads for this year, I’m starting to realize how much people want to read this novel – and I can confirm that I’d definitely recommend you to do so. This book was a beauty. Goodreads Blurb For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to…

  • 80416205 2205417679763180 3822513673599975424 n - Serpent & Dove Book Review
    Reviews

    Serpent & Dove Book Review

    A book I had been anticipating and so excited to get to because of all the hype in the book community but also because – who doesn’t love a good hate-to-love romance? plus witchy vibes? yes please and yes I can officially announce that YES – I freaking loved this one. Goodreads Blurb “A brilliant debut, full of everything I love: a sparkling and fully realized heroine, an intricate and deadly system of magic, and a searing romance that kept me reading long into the night. Serpent & Dove is an absolute gem of a book.” —Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Court of Thorns and Roses series Bound…

  • 20190907 165739 - A Dish of Mini-Reviews: YA & Romance
    Mini-Reviews,  Reviews

    A Dish of Mini-Reviews: YA & Romance

    While I was on hiatus, basically a pile of books I meant to review began to appear and just grow bigger. So, to catch up on sharing my thoughts on these novels – I’ve compiled a dish full of mini-reviews for these reads. Let us begin! The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren Rating: ★★★★☆(4/5) After reading Autoboyography, I had a pretty good feeling that I’d enjoy another novel from Christina Lauren. This novel turned out to be incredibly enjoyable with such a cute plot and the best romance I’ve read since my last Helen Hoang read. This was so cute and so well written, I highly recommend this to any romance…

  • chasing the shadows - Chasing the Shadows Book Review
    Reviews

    Chasing the Shadows Book Review

    In case you didn’t notice, I was so lucky to interview Maria V Snyder (!!!), the author of Chasing the Shadows (the second novel in the Sentinels of the Galaxy trilogy). I had previously read the first book last year, called Navigating the Stars (review here!) and really enjoyed it! So it was great to be able to read the sequel ahead of its release last month and interview Maria, so huge thanks to Harlequin Australia for that. Goodreads Blurb New York Times bestselling author Maria V. Snyder returns with the next page-turning instalment of the new sci-fi series: Sentinels of the Galaxy Year 2522. Lyra Daniels is dead. Okay,…

  • 20190907 165718 - The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling Book Review
    Reviews

    The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling Book Review

    The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling by Wai Chim Book Review Someone give me dumplings because now it’s all I can think about when I think of this amazing book. There, I said it, it was AMAZING. Cue blurb: Goodreads Blurb:   Anna Chiu has her hands pretty full looking after her brother and sister and helping out at her dad’s restaurant, all while her mum stays in bed. Dad’s new delivery boy, Rory, is a welcome distraction and even though she knows that things aren’t right at home, she’s starting to feel like she could just be a normal teen. But when Mum finally gets out of bed,…

  • 67892665 350898332486966 2013886349500743680 n - Oasis Book Review
    Reviews

    Oasis Book Review

    Oasis by Katya de Becerra Book Review Is it awesome having an author friend that is lovely enough to gift you their ARC? Yes. Is it even better when their book is freaking amazing? Hell yes. I almost didn’t expect how good this would be and it literally got me out of a book slump. Goodreads Blurb:   The oasis saved them. But who will save them from the oasis? Alif had exciting summer plans: working on her father’s archaeological dig site in the desert with four close friends . . . and a very cute research assistant. Then the sandstorm hit. With their camp wiped away, Alif and the…

  • 67872765 2670510569676888 4625845937191780352 n - Graphic Novel Bonanza | Mini-Reviews & First Impressions
    Mini-Reviews,  Reviews

    Graphic Novel Bonanza | Mini-Reviews & First Impressions

    In the last month or so, I have been amazed by how many graphic novels I’ve been reading. I usually don’t read too many graphic novels at all but recently, ever since I seriously started going to my local library; I finally borrowed a bunch I’ve been wanting to get to. The primary reason why I don’t usually read many graphic novels or comics is that they’re quite expensive. Although I appreciate that they’re the same price as traditional books because it takes so much time to create the art, I’ve never found a graphic novel with a style I love so much to keep or one that seems worth…

  • 67818142 627956477612979 2019777648766484480 n - And the Ocean Was Our Sky Book Review
    Reviews

    And the Ocean Was Our Sky Book Review

    And the Ocean Was Our Sky Book Review When I first heard that this book was weird, I thought; y’know that’s pretty normal for Patrick Ness, they’re usually pretty cool and great even though they’re weird but omg, okay this book was weird XD and I still picked this bad boy up from the library. Goodreads Blurb   With harpoons strapped to their backs, the proud whales of Bathsheba’s pod live for the hunt, fighting in the ongoing war against the world of men. When they attack a ship bobbing on the surface of the Abyss, they expect to find easy prey. Instead, they find the trail of a myth,…

  • audiobook sadie - Sadie AudioBook Review
    Reviews

    Sadie AudioBook Review

    Sadie by Courtney Summers Book Review So I’ve been trying to write this review for months now, it has taken me SO long to be able to convey just how surprising and great I found this book. Finally, finally, here is my review.   Goodreads Blurb:   Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water. But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister’s killer to justice and…