• IMG20181024150943 - Books From Last Decade: The Top YA Books of 2010
    Truffle Babble

    Books From Last Decade: The Top YA Books of 2010

    As someone may have everyone has said as we ticked over to the new year, it is also a new decade! And like the nostalgic person that I am, I thought it would be cool, not just to look back on the books I’ve loved in the last decade (like a lot of people have) but to actually find out what was published a decade ago. Boy, some of these books are so old already – that and I’m just amazed as to how time has flown and these books still maintain their status as favourites. Back in 2010, I was 12 and still at my reading peak where I…

  • loveboat1 - Loveboat, Taipei Book Review
    Reviews

    Loveboat, Taipei Book Review

    Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen Book Review Now that we’re well into 2020, and I’ve been reading everyone’s list of anticipated reads for this year, I’m starting to realize how much people want to read this novel – and I can confirm that I’d definitely recommend you to do so. This book was a beauty. Goodreads Blurb For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to…

  • 80416205 2205417679763180 3822513673599975424 n - Serpent & Dove Book Review
    Reviews

    Serpent & Dove Book Review

    A book I had been anticipating and so excited to get to because of all the hype in the book community but also because – who doesn’t love a good hate-to-love romance? plus witchy vibes? yes please and yes I can officially announce that YES – I freaking loved this one. Goodreads Blurb “A brilliant debut, full of everything I love: a sparkling and fully realized heroine, an intricate and deadly system of magic, and a searing romance that kept me reading long into the night. Serpent & Dove is an absolute gem of a book.” —Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Court of Thorns and Roses series Bound…

  • 20190907 165739 - A Dish of Mini-Reviews: YA & Romance
    Mini-Reviews,  Reviews

    A Dish of Mini-Reviews: YA & Romance

    While I was on hiatus, basically a pile of books I meant to review began to appear and just grow bigger. So, to catch up on sharing my thoughts on these novels – I’ve compiled a dish full of mini-reviews for these reads. Let us begin! The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren Rating: ★★★★☆(4/5) After reading Autoboyography, I had a pretty good feeling that I’d enjoy another novel from Christina Lauren. This novel turned out to be incredibly enjoyable with such a cute plot and the best romance I’ve read since my last Helen Hoang read. This was so cute and so well written, I highly recommend this to any romance…

  • chasing the shadows - Chasing the Shadows Book Review
    Reviews

    Chasing the Shadows Book Review

    In case you didn’t notice, I was so lucky to interview Maria V Snyder (!!!), the author of Chasing the Shadows (the second novel in the Sentinels of the Galaxy trilogy). I had previously read the first book last year, called Navigating the Stars (review here!) and really enjoyed it! So it was great to be able to read the sequel ahead of its release last month and interview Maria, so huge thanks to Harlequin Australia for that. Goodreads Blurb New York Times bestselling author Maria V. Snyder returns with the next page-turning instalment of the new sci-fi series: Sentinels of the Galaxy Year 2522. Lyra Daniels is dead. Okay,…

  • snyderauthorinterview scaled - Author Interview: A Chat with Maria V Snyder
    Author Interviews,  Features

    Author Interview: A Chat with Maria V Snyder

    Author Interview: A Chat with Maria V Snyder Today, I am bringing you guys an exclusive interview with none other than Maria V Snyder! You might recognise her name from her famous series Poison Study. Around this time last year, I read her novel Navigating the Stars, the first novel in her Sentinels of the Galaxy series (you can find my review for it here!), and today this Q&A is to celebrate her sequel in the same series; Chasing the Shadows. I’m currently reading it and loving it, so I hope you enjoy her interview answers as much as I did: Author Interview: A Chat with Maria V Snyder 1. Hi! How…

  • dumpling 1 - Author Interview: A Chat with Dumpling's Wai Chim
    Author Interviews,  Features

    Author Interview: A Chat with Dumpling’s Wai Chim

    Author Interview with Wai Chim | The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling I am SO excited to be bringing you guys an interview/chat I had with Wai Chim, the author of one of my newest favourite YA contemporaries The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling (See my 5-star review HERE). I related so much to this novel and it was a pleasure to get to pick Wai’s brain a little about it and about her general author life. Here it is! Author Interview: A Chat with Wai Chim   1. Hi! How are you? I’m sure you must have had a hectic schedule with the release of this beautiful pink…

  • 20190907 165718 - The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling Book Review
    Reviews

    The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling Book Review

    The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling by Wai Chim Book Review Someone give me dumplings because now it’s all I can think about when I think of this amazing book. There, I said it, it was AMAZING. Cue blurb: Goodreads Blurb:   Anna Chiu has her hands pretty full looking after her brother and sister and helping out at her dad’s restaurant, all while her mum stays in bed. Dad’s new delivery boy, Rory, is a welcome distraction and even though she knows that things aren’t right at home, she’s starting to feel like she could just be a normal teen. But when Mum finally gets out of bed,…

  • 67892665 350898332486966 2013886349500743680 n - Oasis Book Review
    Reviews

    Oasis Book Review

    Oasis by Katya de Becerra Book Review Is it awesome having an author friend that is lovely enough to gift you their ARC? Yes. Is it even better when their book is freaking amazing? Hell yes. I almost didn’t expect how good this would be and it literally got me out of a book slump. Goodreads Blurb:   The oasis saved them. But who will save them from the oasis? Alif had exciting summer plans: working on her father’s archaeological dig site in the desert with four close friends . . . and a very cute research assistant. Then the sandstorm hit. With their camp wiped away, Alif and the…

  • 67818142 627956477612979 2019777648766484480 n - And the Ocean Was Our Sky Book Review
    Reviews

    And the Ocean Was Our Sky Book Review

    And the Ocean Was Our Sky Book Review When I first heard that this book was weird, I thought; y’know that’s pretty normal for Patrick Ness, they’re usually pretty cool and great even though they’re weird but omg, okay this book was weird XD and I still picked this bad boy up from the library. Goodreads Blurb   With harpoons strapped to their backs, the proud whales of Bathsheba’s pod live for the hunt, fighting in the ongoing war against the world of men. When they attack a ship bobbing on the surface of the Abyss, they expect to find easy prey. Instead, they find the trail of a myth,…